Summer Assignments

Summer time is for sun and fun, but it is also a time to prepare for the upcoming year.  This summer, students are encouraged to spend time reading, researching, writing, and discovering math in their everyday world.

Here is the form students should use to track their learning this summer -

My Summer Learning Log

Printed copies will also be available in the main office!

There is a section recording websites that are visited.

Recommended websites include…

WEBSITE SITE TOPIC GRADE LEVEL
Tween Tribune https://www.tweentribune.com/ All Subjects All Grade Levels
CK-12 https://www.ck12.org/ Science & Math All Grade Levels
PHET Interactive Simulations https://phet.colorado.edu/ Science & Math All Grade Levels
PBS Kids www.pbskids.org All Subjects Elementary
Highlights for Kids www.highlightskids.com All Subjects Elementary
ABC YA www.abcya.com Math & Reading Elementary
Into the Book www.reading.ecb.org Reading Elementary
Starfall www.starfall.com Reading Elementary
Seussville www.seussville.com Reading Elementary
Storyline Online www.storylineonline.com Reading Elementary
FunBrain www.funbrain.com Math & Reading Elementary and Middle School
Switcheroo Zoo www.switcheroozoo.com Science Elementary and Middle School
National Geographic for Kids www.kids.nationalgeographic.com Science and Social Studies Elementary and Middle School
Get the Math http://www.thirteen.org/get-the-math/ Math Middle and High School
Desmos https://www.desmos.com/ Math Middle and High School
Brilliant https://brilliant.org/ Math Middle and High School
Common Lit www.commonlit.org Reading Middle and High School
Harry Potter Reading Club http://hpread.scholastic.com/ Reading Middle and High School

 

Recommended Reading Lists (but not required):

PreK – 2nd Grade Reading List

3rd and 4th Grade Reading List

5th and 6th Grade Reading List

7th and 8th Grade Reading List

High School Reading List

Middle School and High School Modified Reading List

 

Need Some Help?

If you need any assistance or have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us!

Academic Questions

Paula Heller, pheller@azvi.org, 340.626.1989

General Questions

Kishma Williams, kwilliams@azvi.org, 340.718.7909

Have fun and always learn!